Personal Statement

WHAT THE F**K?! HOW DO I??? HOW MANY CHARACTERS?! WHAT AM I EVEN SAYING?! I’M THE MOST BORING PERSON IN THE WORLD F**K!! WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME?!??!?!?!?!?

This being my thought process whilst I sit on a train heading back to London after crying my eyes out for 5 hours already as I try to write for second time my personal statement. I have already applied once to drama school through my college and have been lucky enough to gain a place on Italia Conti’s foundation course. I am now re-applying for a 3 year BA course.

Okay slow down, so I have been crying because I came home for the first time since moving on the 1st September. I thought I was fine, I haven’t particularly been home sick at all but saying goodbye to mum again was harder this time. The lovely lady on my train to York talked me down and gave me free tea. Never under-estimate the power of a good brew.

OHMILORDY I GOT ON TO A COURSE AT ITALIA! Who’dathunk I was capable?! Definitely not me when I was applying last year. Mistake #1. Imparting some advice here, believe in you because if you don’t how can you expect others to. Now obviously don’t be a cocky bast*rd and be that person at auditions because if you are truly confident you don’t need to prove it to anyone.

Coming from the North East where opportunity are few and far between ( i.e. barely even existent) it’s flippin’ hard to break into this career. My college was utter pants when it came to helping me with auditions. My parents don’t have a load of free cash to throw around either and let’s face it auditions are outrageously expensive. So from what I have found researchresearchresearch into every school. I was crazy lucky because as much as I thought I did this I didn’t, each school is so different in its approach, I managed to get in at a school that suits me too. Italia is a family unit, with only the acting course at the Clapham school everyone knows each other everyone supports each other, although the facilities are not new and big, it has a charm about the winding stairs and rickety studios. Not for everyone but for me so far I’m loving it.

So writing this f*cking hard, tacking questions like why do you want to act and who are you as a person, what can you bring to course, is flippin’ hard. Once I crack the code I’ll let you know and try pop on some help for anybody else in this position too.

One thing is for sure I have never been more determined in my life, never been more sure that this is what I want. Bygolly I’m going to get it.

WELL I’m procrastinating, best get on with trying to write this bloody thing….

 

Leave a Reply

